Quit Comparing Yourself To Others


img_1561

” Charm is deceitful and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the LORD will be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

 
I used to constantly make myself miserable by comparing myself to others. We have to learn to celebrate who we are because we each have something wonderful about our unique being.

When I was young and living in California there was a woman named Marion, in our apartments, who every man drooled over and every woman hated. She had a perfect body, a gorgeous face and long, thick flowing hair.

I would compare myself to her and I always came up short. My body was far from perfect, my face was average and my hair was fine and thin.

But over the time we lived there God began to speak to me that instead of fretting over what I wasn’t I needed to concentrate on what I was. I have always had an outgoing, fun personality and people enjoy being around me. So I made myself the best “me” I could be and counted on my people skills to make sure I had plenty of friends.

Over the many, many, years now I have learned that a partner who frets more over your looks then theirs and constantly reminds you of your beauty faults is actually a very insecure person. They are the kind of person who needs their ego constantly stroked and having that perfect person by their side constantly gives their ego a boost. They want everyone in the room, when they walk in with you, to be jealous. It isn’t about you, it’s about them. That’s not love, that’s insecurity.

I am not telling you to let yourself go. I am telling you that true love accepts you as you are.

You are a one of a kind. God doesn’t make junk. He made you for a reason. Quit comparing yourself to others. Have you ever noticed that, nine times out of ten, truly beautiful people are not nice people?

Find what the one thing is that makes you special and work on perfecting it. That’s God’s gift to the world operating through you.

In God’s Unconditional Love,
Cathie

3 thoughts on “Quit Comparing Yourself To Others

  1. It’s so refreshing to read a blogger who puts God at the center of the conversation. I end my posts usually saying “God Bless You”. I think maybe I need to search out these posts. I haven’t looked for them yet. Thank you for directing my curiosity forward to seek out other Christians.

  2. Considering that my whole Christian experience is that: “You aren’t good enough.” “You need to be married.” “You’re selfish.” “You’re immature.” “What’s wrong with you? Why are you single?” “You’re not allowed …” it’s like my looks are the least of my worries because no matter what I do my church is never happy.

Leave a Reply

