Learning To Lean On God Alone


birdsleavingthenest

Learning To Depend On God Alone
Matthew 4:21-22

Going on from there, He saw two other brothers, James son of Zebedee and his brother John. They were in a boat with their father Zebedee, mending their nets. Jesus called them, and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed Him.…

Notice how in the above scripture, James and John never gave their father another thought. That’s how convinced they were that God had another plan for their lives.

Today after praying I begin to think about people who feel they must manipulate others for their own benefit.

This can be a parent of grown children, a wife or a husband, a good friend or even a child. It’s really a selfish spirit that seeks to have their own will and will do everything and anything to get things exactly how they want it.

One of the most common things manipulative people do is use guilt towards other people. Things are said like, “How can you do that if you love me,” or they will transfer their true feeling onto you by saying, “ You will never make it without me!”

It’s so hard to sometimes let our adult children go. I faced a similar situation with my only daughter. She lived with me for several years and I got so used to her being there that truthfully I believe I depended upon her too much. I depended upon her to do things I could do for myself and was really just too lazy to do. So when she fell in love and wanted to move away, I was heart broken, and begin to worry, “What am I going to do?” Even though I am a Christian, a counselor and really do know better, I found myself doing and saying things that I knew were not of God in an effort to keep her close by.

One day, during my time with the Lord, I was led to pick up a little book of daily words of messages from God. I opened it to the following words, “Trustingly place your child in God’s loving hands. Your heart is bound to the heart of the child. Loose the cord of affection lest it break.” That hit home, and from that point on I apologized to my daughter and supported the desire of her heart to go on and live her life.

God spoke to my heart with a bird analogy. What if a mother bird never kicked the baby bird out of the nest, would it ever learn to fly? Birds are meant to fly, and our children are not meant to live with us forever. It is only selfishness that wants to keep them with us forever.

Often times God has things for our grown child to accomplish and their place is where God has called them to be, not with us all their lives.

Watch closely in your life for a spirit of manipulation. It destroys relationships, will mess up plans and will rob you of your peace. Rebuke trying to manipulate and control other’s lives and apply wisdom and understanding.

God is who we should depend on. Not other people. When we trust in Him, He will see that we are provided with all we need. Sometimes we get so bogged down in human emotions we take our eyes off of Him and place them on other people. By doing so we make that person an idol. We place them above God, thinking without them we will not survive. God is all we need and we can do all things through Him, as He gives us strength. For those things we cannot do physically, God will provide someone to help us!

Let Go and Let God!

In His Unconditional Love,
Cathie Miller

http://www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

Leave a Reply

