God Wants You Off That Fence


NeverHold

Has it happened to you? You have a Christian friend who is always putting Christian sayings on FB, witnessing Christ to you, offering to pray for you and then you catch them saying or doing something that is offensive to Christianity. How do you deal with it? Do you ditch the friend or do you confront them with your feelings?

It happened to me just the other day. Someone whom I admire was found to be involved in something all Christians KNOW that God doesn’t like. At first I was angry, I thought about what a hypocrite the person was and most of all I was just hurt to think someone I admired is lacking in their personal walk with Christ.

I was letting all these thoughts run through my mind when suddenly God brought to my mind my own walk with Christ when I was younger.

I was a fence sitter. One day in Church and the next day partying. One day singing in the Spirit and the next day going to a fortune teller.

I am not going to lie. I spent a great deal of my life going back and forth in my Christian walk. I never denied my belief in Christ but I took him with me in my backsliding ways more than once.

Sadly, I wonder how many people saw that in me and saw my hypocrisy and were hindered in their walk with the Lord? Perhaps they even turned away from God because of that double-minded walk of mine. I have confessed that and I know God forgave me. I reached one day when no longer was having one foot in the world and one foot in hell attractive to me. I made a decision that I would stay true to God, following His example of how to live a successful life, no matter what happened or how I felt.

Do you know what one of my biggest regrets is now? It’s not learning the lesson of staying on God’s side of the fence much, much younger in life. I wasted good years that could of been so different by being hard headed and rebellious.

Now days I do everything possible to help others who have temptations with the things of the world. The problem as I see it, is that we Christians have some idea that all the other Christians are perfect and so they we embarrassed to tell other Christians we are struggling with. A lot of times we never get the help we need because of pride.

So what do we do when we see someone sinning in a way that leads to spiritual death? Do we confront them? In doing so we often lose that friendship and with it a way to witness Christ to the person.

Unless, it’s something really dangerous I take it to the Lord in prayer. I maintain a relationship with the person, as much as possible, so that they have someone to talk to when they are ready to get right with God.

God taught me within the last year the importance of not judging people who are not Christians and are not purporting to be. What they do is none of my business. I can pray for them too, and be available for counsel, if they ask. Other then that I leave it to God. The Word says that we are only to be concerned with the spiritual condition of those within the body.

If a person is into the Word they should know what God allows and what he doesn’t. For instance God’s Word forbids us seeing fortune tellers. I knew that for a long time before I was delivered from it. That seed had been planted in me at a young age when I accompanied my mother and grandmother to a psychic they saw often. I was intrigued by her. However, even at a young age my spirit discerned evil there. Yes, they may seen loving and kind, but that spirit that dwells within them is truly not of God. I wrestled with that sin for years. I always wanted to know what I didn’t know. Finally one day God spoke clearly to me that I didn’t need to know the future. My trust in Him needed to be so strong that no matter what tomorrow might bring I knew that He was with me and He will be always be there with me.

Leviticus 19:31
“Do not defile yourselves by turning to mediums or to those who consult the spirits of the dead. I am the LORD your God.”

Why is it important that a Christian obeys the will of God? Because being outside of the will of God allows all sorts of things into our lives that eventually destroys us. God wants us to live as long as possible because each one of us has a purpose in the kingdom. When we are into sin we cause others to fall away and fall into sin.

Recently I heard someone gossiping about the sins of someone else. What bothered me is that I knew that the person doing the talking was living with someone they weren’t married to. I thought, “Whoa, clean up your own life before you trash someone else’s life.”

Yes, I did the same thing before I quit fence sitting. Thinking I was living for the Lord and yet living in known sin. Can I tell you that every time I did that it turned out badly. I warn people of God about that now because I want, more then anything, for them to avoid all the dysfunction that came from me living in a way that wasn’t pleasing to God.

When God finally impressed upon me that He couldn’t use me until I got my act together, I fell on my knees asked for forgiveness and stayed celibate until I married my husband. So yeah, it can be done.

This is the scripture, out of them all, that impressed me that sex outside of marriage is wrong.

“Stay away from sexual sins. Other sins that people commit don’t affect their bodies the same way sexual sins do. People who sin sexually sin against their own bodies” 1st Corinthians 6:18

Here’s what happens. God allows us to keep on in those sins for a period of time. He forgives us each time we ask, and he delivers us from temptation when we ask. But I have noticed that God seems to have a limit. If we don’t stop the sin, He stops us and it sometimes has terrible consequences for our lives that last long after the sin is no longer in our lives.

My reason for this today is two-fold. We need to stop judging those in known sin, because even though we are not there now, we have been there before. So we need to pray for the person and ask God to bring them to their knees the same way He did with us.

Secondly I want to talk to those who are fence sitters with one foot in the world and one in the body of Christ. You will never get the prayers of your heart answered until you do it God’s way. As long as you play with your salvation the only one you are really hurting is YOU. God will help you as soon as you are through with the sin, whatever it is. Get help from people who are not judgmental. Find people that once suffered with sinning in the same way you are tempted in. Be honest with them and they will be thrilled to help you. God cleans us up so we can help others with the same problems clean up their lives.

So yeah, it’s painful to see a so-called Christian sin in ways that are not pleasing to God. I know that God and certain other people must have been really frustrated with me, prior to me laying down my life, and all the stuff displeasing to God with it! But I beg you, don’t give up on them. You may have to separate from them if their lifestyle is dangerous to you, but keep praying and believing God to change them!

God is not some old meanie sitting up in heaven wanting to see his children suffer. He’s a loving father who wants only the best for us. He doesn’t want us hurt by being involved in situations where we are in satan’s territory. When we are fence sitting we are spending enough time in satan’s playground and he thinks he has the right to assault us there.

Right now we are on the verge of the greatest revival these world has seen. People need God, people are hurting in so many ways. Did you watch the Perry Stone video I shared last night and see all the people going up to the altar for salvation? It was beautiful and brought tears to my eyes. We need the help that only God can give us. We need to stick together and help each other.

Thank you for reading the things laying on my heart today!

In His Unconditional Love,
Cathie Miller
WWW.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

Leave a Reply

