Revenge Is A Dish Better Not Served


Revenge

Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say, “I will take revenge; I will pay them back,” says the LORD. Romans 12:19

 

As surely as the LORD lives,” he said, “the LORD himself will strike him, or his time will come and he will die, or he will go into battle and perish. 1 Samuel 26:10

 

Don’t rejoice when your enemies fall; don’t be happy when they stumble. Proverbs 24:17

 

Twenty years or so ago a woman hurt my feelings so badly that I felt the sting of it for years. The things she did, and said.were in a way, and at a time, that nobody saw or heard them but me.

 

This woman was the kind of woman that acts so sweet when others are around, but when she gets you alone, away from the crowd she says and does horrible, demonic things that you would never believe she had said or done unless you heard them first hand.

 

What made the things she said and did even more hurtful was that she was a phony Christian. Oh, she occupied a pew in her Church and to all that saw her she seemed to have a close relationship with God. What was so disturbing about that was that when she did put you in her sites, you knew that a demon had to be speaking through her. In short she was a Judas. A wolf in sheep’s clothing describes her very well.

 

She actually destroyed my life, at the time, by her devious lying and telling of things that were not true. She had a way of twisting things that made you wonder if they were true. I had a lot of friends at work and she was so jealous of that. Anytime she saw someone I knew meeting with me she would make a beeline, behind my back, to warn the person not to have a thing to do with me because of this, that or the other.

 

It all came to a head one day when someone told me “I thought you should know”….

 

I went home that evening broken-hearted. I have had times when I have said the wrong thing to someone but, as God is my witness, it was never pre-meditated. I am not a mean person, and I do not understand mean women and men.

 

During that time I wanted to confront the woman. I would spend hours praying about it and telling God, “Please get her God!” I was not spiritually mature enough at the time to turn the other cheek. But, nevertheless, God was working on cleaning me up and my spirit was being nudged to just forget it, and let God handle it. Then in the next moment revenge scenarios would start to go through my mind. Luckily my better angels won out and I kept my mouth shut. Shortly after that I would move on to another place of employment.

 

Over the years, while praying, I would ask God, “How long are you going to let her and others like her get by with this?” God would not answer but instead the first two scriptures above would go through my mind. I would then forget for a time, the cruel sting of the things she had said to me.

 

Years passed, the pain subsided. But I want you to know that God is not a liar. If He tells us He is going to avenge us, He means it. We may not believe it, but we can take God’s words to the bank.

 

That brings me to a year or so ago. Chuck and I were in bed watching the ten o’clock news one night, as is our habit. I was tired and dosing off and on when I heard something that caused me to set up straight in bed. The woman has a very unique name. The news was talking about an accident regarding someone with that name, and how they were in critical condition. Chuck said, “What’s wrong?” I said, “I know that person and she is a demon from hell and she finally got what was coming to her!” Chuck and I had not been together when I went through my drama with her, so he had no clue as to what I was talking about.

 

A smile, from ear to ear, covered my face. I walked to the bathroom singing, “Ding-Dong the witch is dead!” Oh yeah, I tell you this because I want you to know that even a minister can have fleshly thoughts.

 

On my way back, in the dark, to bed, the Holy Spirit came over me and Jesus started to whisper in my ear, “I want you to pray for her. I want you to ask for forgiveness for your attitude and start praying for her healing!” Immediately I remembered the scripture that said to not rejoice when your enemies fall. I got out my IPad and did a Google check for that scripture.

 

Yep, God didn’t let me wallow in my happiness at her big fall for long. Matter of fact, at this time in my walk with God, I knew, that I knew, I had better obey God or things would not go well for me either!

 

So I asked God for forgiveness and then I started praying for her. I kept tabs on the news story and she received a “miraculous healing.” However, she was in the hospital long enough to get right with God. If she desired to do so.

 

The amazing thing is that during the next few months I heard of things happening to several people who I knew to be “not nice people.” God begin to show me that no matter how long it takes we have to evidentially answer for all the evil we do, and it’s much better that it happens here, on this plane of existence, because we can then desire to turn our lives around and go in a different direction.

 

I know now that the good truly do, often, die young. God lets the evil ones stay so that He has a longer time to work with them. I can tell you, without going into detail, that God has dealt with me on things from my past that He wasn’t pleased with. I went though a good year of repentance when God would bring something that I had done to my mind and I would then ask for forgiveness and begin a period of repenting over things that I did that were not pleasing to God. Once we ask for forgiveness it is a done deal. God never, ever even remembers it, so the bible tells us.

 

So, if you have been hurt terribly by someone who was evil and selfish, know that God will eventually avenge you. That’s the good news. The bad news is that He expects us to forgive them and pray for them and, often, that is the hardest thing to do. In the end though, sacrificial forgiveness will bring us further along on our spiritual journey then we can ever imagine!

 

In His Unconditional Love,

Cathie

www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

 

 

2 thoughts on “Revenge Is A Dish Better Not Served

  1. Hi Cathie, I read your article on His promises are always filled in His perfect timing. I tried requesting for prayer and spiritual counseling but there was an error. Do you have an alternative email address?

Leave a Reply

