Living Victoriously With A Renewed Mind


GodIsNotTheAuthorOfConfusion

12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood [contending only with physical opponents], but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this [present] darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly (supernatural) places. Ephesians 6:12

What do you think when you read the above scripture? Do you think to yourself, “That’s all good and fine but those things happened back in biblical times? There is no such thing as a “devil.”

If that is what you think, and you keep having trouble with the same problem, over and over again, you will never be set free. In order to fight dragons you need to learn their habits, and in order to fight Satan you must learn that he is a real opponent of the believer, and YOU have power over Him through Jesus Christ.

In 2 Corinthians 10-4-5 we read the following;

 The weapons of our warfare are not physical [weapons of flesh and blood]. Our weapons are divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses.

 

What this scripture means is that physical solutions will not chase the darkness in our lives away. We need to work in the supernatural realms with the Spirit of God. As we do so, God will begin to fight for us in those realms and help us to gain victory over the battlefield that is going on in our minds.

 

We cannot do it on our own, or we would not be having the problems we are having. We need to recognize that there is a battle going on for our souls and that we can have victory over our situations once we realize who is in back of that battle.

 

In the book “Battlefield of the Mind,” by Joyce Meyer she summarizes our situation like this;

 

  1. We are engaged in a war.
  2. Our enemy is Satan.
  3. The mind is the battlefield
  4. The devil works diligently to set up strongholds in our mind.
  5. He does it through strategy and deceit (through well-laid plans and deliberate deception)
  6. He is in no hurry; He takes his time to work out his plan.

 

Until we can control our thoughts we will never be able to control our actions.

 

A lot of times we think, “Poor so and so, if he/she only knew Jesus personally he/she would not be having these problems.” Well, I can tell you that a lot of people that are saved are battling with bombardment of thoughts that do not come from God. They come from the enemy.

 

I had been saved for years when God started to show me that it was my thoughts that were ruining my life and my marriage. I would get a thought in my mind, and I would begin to believe it to be true, and I would dwell on it and analyze my situation, until I thought I knew what was going on. It could be anything from someone talking behind my back to my husband having an affair.

 

Satan would plant a seed in my mind and I would water it until it bloomed into a full-blown thought that I even shared with some of my girlfriends. Looking back on those days I feel ashamed that I let Satan fuel my imagination in ways that hurt not just me, but others.

 

At a point I began to see a pattern in my life. I hated what I was feeling but I thought I was a hopeless case. It was at this point in my life, that I gave it to Jesus on my hands and knees and then I asked God to change me.

 

Be careful when you pray that prayer because God will begin to do a work in you and sometimes it is a bit painful. It is, however, all worth it.

 

These days I will observe people in the same situations that I used to be in and I want to shake them by the shoulders and say, “Get a grip.” That won’t work though, because in my own situation nothing anyone said to me changed me. I had to reach rock bottom and then when I fully surrendered to God, He walked me out of the pit I was in, in my mind, and He set my feet on solid ground.

 

The world’s way of thinking doesn’t work in these situations. You can write a hundred affirmations and put them on post-it notes and paste them all over your house and you can read them a hundred times a day, but without the power of the living God behind them they are only WORDS.

 

Romans 12:2 says this:

And do not be conformed to this world [any longer with its superficial values and customs], but be [a] transformed and progressively changed [as you mature spiritually] by the renewing of your mind [focusing on godly values and ethical attitudes], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His plan and purpose for you].

 

In order to win the battle going on in our minds and get victory over the lies the devil puts in them. We must get the knowledge of God’s truth inside of us. We can renew our minds with HIS WORD.

 

31 So Jesus was saying to the Jews who had believed Him, “If you abide in My word [continually obeying My teachings and living in accordance with them, then] you are truly My disciples. 32 And you will know the truth [regarding salvation], and the truth will set you free [from the penalty of sin].” John 8:31-32

The next time you are starting to stress and confess how you are feeling, and how hopeless your situation is because of “yada, yada, yada,” stop and ask yourself the following; “Why am I believing this situation to be hopeless? God is my Father and nothing I am believing or saying is what HE says about this situation!” Then stop and immediately do a Google search on your problem. Something like this, “What does the bible say about not having enough money?” I know that no matter what you are stressing over today there is a scripture that addresses your problem. Then, copy that scripture down and the next time you start to stress out, instead of calling a friend and complaining and reinforcing your lack of faith, get alone with God and read your scripture and then start confessing the WORD. Not how you feel, not how it looks, but the WORD.

If you cannot find a word for your situation write me an email, and I will find one for you.

This is your day. It’s time for the battle going on in your mind to end and for you to WALK OUT OF THE VALLEY OF TORMENT and ONTO THE MOUNTAIN OF FAITH!!

In His Never-failing Love,

Cathie Miller

www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

