Getting Real About Unconditional Love


thetonguewounds

But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love. 1 John 4:8

 

This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not God’s child, nor is anyone who does not love their brother and sister. 1 John 3:10

 

I encourage you all to blog. One great thing about it is that you can say what you are feeling or thinking. Those that want to read it can, and those who don’t want to read it can toss it.

I call this blog the wisdom blog because I usually teach things I learned the hard way in life. I lived the New Age life for a long time, but the only tangible thing I know is that when life gets hard and you need someone stronger then you to help you handle it, God is the only one who can do that. The stars, or the earth, don’t do that. God does that.

With Mother’s Day coming up I have some thoughts.

Do you know what I find sad, and irritating..God Help ME. is people who spent years “bad mouthing” their mother or father while they were still living. I have had people sit in my own living room and talk trash about their parent and yet when the parent dies they go online, and other places, and talk about how sad they are, and how sad their lives are without said parent at “Mother’s Day” or “Father’s Day.”

Now that the parent is dead, the parent is still being used by the person for attention, just in another way.

Hear this, I know and others know that you didn’t love your parent then, unconditionally, and you don’t love them now. No one is being fooled. Take your self-pity party elsewhere!

 

I am not perfect, you are not perfect. No one on this planet is. Love your parent NOW while you still can or be prepared to answer to God about it.

Some folks like to think how great they are because they give to this or that cause and they see homeless on the street and hand them a dollar. What about those in your own family? Because if you aren’t helping them, don’t expect God to be really thrilled about any other giving. Well, lets see what the Word says about that..

“Anyone who does not provide for their relatives, and especially for their own household, has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.” 1 Timothy 5:8

 

Living in Taos, NM, one of the things I find so beautiful is the Native culture of honoring your parent while they live. So many Northern New Mexico Hispanics are the same. It’s a BEAUTIFUL thing to see. I occasionally see these people honoring their parent on a special birthday on FB and the love they show is so beautiful it warms the heart! I love looking at those pictures and they inspire my heart! These people know that it’s about spending time with their parents, not expensive gifts.

I believe it starts with the love of God that translates into love of parents. I do not know, personally, any Natives or Hispanics that consider themselves Atheists.

Recently I saw a quote on FB talking down Christians that believe in their invisible God and instead it extols the wonder of worshipping Mother Earth. Really? It wasn’t nature that held your hand and comforted you in your hour of need! It was a human being sent by God to comfort you!

People often tell me “Well, Cathie my parent did this or that, and you have no idea how it affected me.” I don’t but God does know how it affected you. However, punishing them for whatever it was doesn’t heal you or them. I love the story Joyce Meyers tells of being so good to her father, who sexually abused her for years in her youth, that before he died he apologized and came to know Jesus as his personal savior.

I am not saying to spend everyday of your life with the parent, but do something in love. You may have no idea how your parent feels about the past. Many parents regret the crazy mistakes they made when young and would love to have a second chance to make it up to you.

See, God says that we can’t be selective of who we love. He says that even the heathen love those who are good to them. If we only love those people we miss the true, abiding, agape love experience that is found in God.

“If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them.” Luke 6:32

 

Think about stepping out in the deep water by loving your living parent, while you still can! It’s called RESPECT.

Let the past go to Jesus, and walk forward into the freedom of God’s unconditional love. Oh, I know people hurt you in your own family. I know that pain. I know the deep emotional pain of being abused emotionally and physically. I also know that God wants to wrap His arms around you and love you so that you can find the strength inside to love others that hurt you needlessly, not just those who are kind to you.

I ask for prayers for my health. Pray that God will provide finances so I can afford to hire some help when I cannot physically help my dear husband. If you need prayers write me, I pray each day for those on my prayer list..Whether I am sick or well.

In His Unconditional Love,

Cathie

www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

www.loveaddictioncounselingforchristians.com

Leave a Reply

