Surrendering To What Is


surrender

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6

We run around to and fro when we have a serious problem. We wring our hands and we beg God to deliver us. We don’t know what we are going to do, and we are desperate for answers.

Maybe we call friends to pray with us, or maybe our pastor comes over to pray with us. In the end, God will either deliver us or He will not. Because He is God, and we are not, we learn to abide with His answers, no matter how doubtful it leaves our faith.

After experiencing several times, in my own life, where things went to heck in a hand basket I knew that I was missing something in my relationship with God.

In Philippians 4:10-12 we read the following;

But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at last you have revived your concern for me; indeed, you were concerned before, but you lacked opportunity. Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need.

I begin to seek the Lord for wisdom regarding my lack of being content regardless of what happened. I wanted to experience peace in my life regardless of what is going on. As I began to speak that desire to God in prayer, my life seemed to go from bad to worse and it sometimes felt like God was so far away! I couldn’t see any difference between my life and the life of someone who was not a believer. Satan used this time to come to me and say, “There is no God. If there was a God you would not be suffering like this.”

Maybe you are there today, or maybe you have been there for a while. You may feel that God let you down and so you listen to Satan as he begins to play games with your mind.

This is a precarious time in the life of a Christian. As long as things are going well, and we are in a time of relative peace, we often believe God is blessing us. Let one thing, or a couple of them, go wrong and we begin to curse God and deny His existence.

I want you to know that this time in every Christian’s life is where “the rubber meets the road.” There you are at a crossroads, you can go back into your old life or you can surrender it all to God and go to another level of maturity.

Surrender goes against our own will. We are bombarded daily by little slogans telling us, “You are strong, and invincible and you can do anything.”

I began to wonder what total surrender would feel like. I sat down in my prayer chair and began to talk to God. I said, “God, I can’t handle this anymore. I have tried everything I know to do and nothing is working and so I give up. I refuse to think about this or interfere with this, and basically I am taking my hands off of it and letting it go. If I fail completely I will take this as your will, and I will accept it cheerfully and peacefully.”

I pictured in my mind each one of my problems. I put them in a box, one by one and then I pictured myself walking towards Jesus. We were on a beautiful peaceful beach as I took my box and placed it, metaphorically, at His feet. I said to Him, “It’s hard for me to surrender, but I trust you enough to do it. Here they are, take them all. I will let you handle this.”

Immediately I felt my spirit get lighter. I felt the weight of those problems fall off of my shoulders. In the next few days Satan would play with my mind. I would have thoughts of “Maybe I should do this, or that?” Then I would hear the voice of God speaking, “Be still and KNOW that I AM GOD.” Then I would repent of trying to take things back, and I would give them back to Him.

Miracles began to happen. One after the other, seemingly out of the blue, God would bring events and people together and I begin to have a deeper faith in Him then I had ever had. I knew that these things had come together by Him, and Him alone, opening doors in front of me. In the past I was great at manipulating things to go my way, and then when they all fell apart I would blame God. Now I knew that God was a force in my life working for my good.

Many years have past and other situations have arisen. I simply practice letting go again, and my peace returns in the middle of horrific situations as much as it does in good ones.

The key to living drama free is to first consult with God, before making any move into a new situation, or getting out of an old one. Ask for His help, and trust Him to give it to you. It’s when we rush into things with our own will, without trusting Him that we often get into bad bad situations.

There have been days when things have hurt me to the point I literally felt my very heart was breaking into pieces. I have survived these things by totally surrendering them to Him. I know Him well by now, I know He loves me and I trust that He will turn even the worst of situations around and I will find blessings in them.

“And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:8

 

All you need to do is surrender. If you can surrender outcomes and desires to Him He will walk you into the valley of peace!

In His Unconditional Love,

Cathie

www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

www.loveaddictioncoachingforchristians.com

Leave a Reply

