Conquering Our Mind Battles


The Wolf You feed

But the words you speak come from the heart–that’s what defiles you. Matthew 15:18

The image above, which is an based on an old Cherokee Indian piece of folklore, is interesting because so often Jesus spoke of the words that come out of a person’s mouth and how those words can make us or break us.

For years, my words that came out of my mouth were bringing forth trouble, chaos and strife into my life. Think about your life today, because I truly believe that each one of us has a little devil sitting on one shoulder, and an angel sitting on the other.

Years ago while visiting a friend, I had a dream in which I literally saw a demon talking into one of my ears and an angel whispering into the other. My head was practically going in circles, not knowing which of these to give my attention to, and listening to first one and then the other.

Shortly after that I asked a pastor of a large church what he made of that dream. He told me, “You were very blessed that God showed you that in your dream. That goes on in the life of Christians each day and will never stop until the day we go to be with the Lord.”

In some ways I disagree with that Pastor. Though evil will always try to get an inroad into our lives, the more we listen to God, and the good news, the less we hear and pay attention to the sounds of evil promptings in our ears.

I have a lot of discernment, which is one of my gifts from God, but truly I don’t have to be around, and listen to a person talk, for very long before I know which “wolf” they are feeding on a constant basis.

Words that come out of our mouths, which have the effect of hurting others, linger in the heart and head of another human being for years. As Spiritual beings having human experiences most every single one of us can remember hurtful words that someone fed into our lives at one time or another, and they still make us sad if we begin to dwell on them.

Time may have passed, and we know that those words are not true, and yet mean words, fed by the evil voice speaking through a willing vessel, can linger.

We need to recognize the voice that we listen to, and then believe that God will rid us of that negativity when we are willing to listen to the voice of God and speak out on what He says about us, and not what others say about us. We are who God says we are, not any other human being.

Whose voice do you listen to the most? Call those voices by name and write them down. Anger, blame, low self esteem, resentment, self-pity, jealousy, are some of the most common evil thoughts, even though I can define the enemies voice a bit more. You get the idea though.

The more we listen to negativity and anger thoughts the more negative and angry we become.

The choice is ours. We can turn those feeling off by telling them in no uncertain terms that we refuse to listen to them.

I can tell you that God changed my whole life, and me, when He brought the knowledge to me that the thoughts I was dwelling on were causing my depression, self-pity and anger. He also told me that I had a choice to quit listening to those thoughts, and the more I chased them out of my head the easier it would become.

I can also tell you that if you spend a whole lot of time watching TV drama’s and filling your head with that garbage you will begin to think and create drama in your own life. You will begin to agree with a spirit of imagination and think “Maybe my husband is having an affair, maybe my neurotic relative is out to get me, maybe I don’t get enough attention, maybe I should start going out and partying more. “ Turn your TV off of those dramas and the Jerry Springer reality type shows too. There is no place in a Christian’s life for all that garbage.

When we put garbage in our minds then garbage comes out of our minds. Don’t think for a minute I haven’t participated in those things in the past. When Jesus set about to change me that is one of the first things He told me that had to go.

Satan comes to kill, steal and destroy, God has come that we may have life and have it more abundantly. We cannot have it both ways. We just can’t.

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life. John 10:10

 

Every morning I pray that God will guide my life. I pray that He will let my words and thoughts be acceptable in HIS EYES. There are times when I entertain bad thoughts, but I know now where they come from and I can choose to chase them out of my mind.

It was strange that after about 2 years of constantly letting the God voice have it’s place in my mind, and chasing the bad voice out of my head, I realized one day that my whole life had changed and it was so much better, so much less drama filled, and so much more full of peace then in the past. My only regret, my biggest regret, is that I took so long to understand I was feeding the wrong wolf.

In His Unconditional Love,

Cathie

http://www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

Leave a Reply

