The Strongest Emotion Is Love


gods-unconditional-love

The Son of Man, on the other hand, feasts and drinks, and you say, ‘He’s a glutton and a drunkard, and a friend of tax collectors and other sinners!’ But wisdom is shown to be right by its results.” Matthew 11:19

I cannot stand judgmental Christians. Strange thing about that statement is that I used to be one of them.

Through a series of circumstances God began to lead me into a glorious discovery. The very people we might deem as hopeless sinners are the ones we need to reach the most. If we cut these people out of our lives completely they will never see the change that God makes in a person’s life.

Jesus was criticized for hanging out with certain people in Matthew 9:11,12,13 we read the following;

11 When the Pharisees saw this, they asked his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?”

12 On hearing this, Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. 13 But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’[a] For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

We need to go into a hurting world and be an example of unconditional love.

One day, as I was looking for a parking space in a shopping center, I saw a woman who got out of her car, slammed the door and then turned around and gave me a dirty look as I drove by her. I didn’t even know the woman.

It was obvious that she was angry. That anger was enveloping every cell of her being at that moment. So she was going to direct that anger at anyone who came within her view.

Now, we could think, “Wow, that woman is a real witch!” The truth of the matter is that we don’t know what her life was like that day, or any other day. Perhaps she had been abused in one way or the other. Perhaps she was losing her home. Perhaps she had lost her job that day.

The point is that instead of judging her behavior, God has taught me to pray for people like that and to not take it personally.

We live in a hurting world, and it’s going to get a lot worse before it’s over and done with.

I love the quote by Mother Theresa that says, “When you judge people you have no time to love them.”

When God starts working on an area of our lives, like judgment, He will bring all sorts of situations involving people that we might feel like judging. That’s what he does with me and I know that He is no respecter of people. I fight that with the Word. There is not one problem that is thrown at us that we cannot counter with the Word.

When I find myself wanting to judge something or someone I repeat in my mind, or out loud depending on where I am at the time, “Judge not lest you be judged!” That scripture keeps me from judging and helps me to clear my mind to love.

Nothing turns unbelievers away from Christ like some of His people. Hurting people need love, not judgment. I have never known any sinner who found God because of someone’s judgment of him or her. They come to Christ through observing people who are loving and kind to them.

I am not suggesting that we spend a lot of time around people who are verbally, emotionally and physically abusing us. In that case it’s better to leave and leave them to God.

I am simply talking about people whose lifestyle is not like ours. If we don’t show God’s kind of love to everyone we miss the very point of Christian living.

Galatians 5:22-23 lists nine aspects of “fruit of the spirit,” the first of which is love. No matter how smart, gifted or successful we are without love life is empty and meaningless. If we never give it we become self-centered and demanding. If we never receive it, we’ll constantly strive for acceptance and approval.

When God’s love flows in and through us we become more like His son. When others observe us, they will be drawn to the Savior, because God’s love never fails.

In His Unconditional Love,

Cathie

www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

2 thoughts on “The Strongest Emotion Is Love

  1. I love this post so much. I feel the exact same way. I noticed it because I sometimes attend a college bible class where they let different people try out leading worship (because it’s a low risk setting) and I used to be so critical of them in my mind until I realized that the only person that that was making a difference for was me. It was making my day that much more negative and for what? It’s such a happier world view to remove judgement of others and to always give those you encounter the benefit of the doubt

Leave a Reply

