Staying Inside The Fence


stayinginsidethefence

Be happy about it! Be very glad! For a great reward awaits you in heaven. And remember, the ancient prophets were persecuted in the same way.
 Matthew 5:12

This past week God has been dealing with me regarding backsliding and why it seems to be so hard for people to stay true to God these days.

Truthfully, I know a whole lot about backsliding as a Christian believer because I did it for a long time. I would go one step forward with God and then I would take two back.

I wanted to be like everyone around me. I wanted to “have my cake and eat it too.” I would dabble in all kinds of things that were not good for me. These things included, relationships, recreational drugs, alcohol and New Age things that interested me.

The very first time something around me went wrong I would say, “To heck with it, if I am going to have all these hard situations around me I might as well have fun in the meantime.”

It’s only been the last 7 years that I have totally been sold out for God. God worked on me for a long time until I totally surrendered my whole soul to Him and knew that I never wanted to go back into the crazy, chaotic, drama filled life I had lived.

No one is perfect. Not your pastor, your counselor, your TV pastor, your best friend or someone you highly admire. The only good example we have for life is Christ. When we keep our eyes on a “person,” and that person falls back into trouble, then we have our faith rattled. We forget that we are all in suits of flesh, and until we die we are going to be tempted to do some crazy things that are not good for us.

God went out of His way to teach me about the “frailty” of some “human beings,” I admired. The last straw was when a man who is the head of a large nationwide psychological group came to ME for counseling and told me to never tell anyone about it. It was then God taught me that psychiatrists and psychologists don’t live stress free lives either. We all put our legs in our pants one leg at a time. After that sad realization I have learned to keep my eyes of God and wait for Him to guide me. Sometimes I forget and when I do I learn quickly that no one but God can truly guide me.

Be kind to your “teachers,” counselors and pastors. Give them a big hug. It’s hard when you realize that people constantly judge you and look at you to be perfect. No one knows better then each of those people how human we all our, and if they don’t they will soon fall because God wants to chase that “ego,” right out of them.

When you want to get free of something you need to find a counselor that understands you. I counsel a lot of love addicts because I spent years in love addictive behavior and I know what it’s all about. It’s different then other addictions, but it can still destroy and take over your life if you let it.

God had to literally remove all my props to get through to me. He might be doing that to you too if you find a lot of people leaving your life. Especially those you depend up to help you when you need emotional counsel.

There is another reason people leave, too, that I would like to just briefly touch on. They are not ready to totally commit it all to God at this point and having YOU around lets them know that God is able to deal with and change anyone and they don’t want to change yet. Now that’s not why commitment phobic leave love addicts, but that’s for another time, I am not dealing with that in this teaching.

When we are double-minded, and backsliding, God can’t bring forth the real plan He has for our lives. The reason is that He wants to use us as witnesses of His transformation power and truth be told a lot of people will just sit around and hope we fall flat on our faces so they can say, “I told you nothing has changed him or her!”

A lot of people will stop reading right here. They will think, “Oh, I don’t want to listen to this Christian self-righteous behavior BS. God loves me just as I am!” In a way they are right. God loves us too much to leave us in the trough groveling with pigs. We are His kids, He took all of the sin we had, and would ever have, when He died on the cross for us.

When I talk about these things please do not think I am pointing out one group of people. This isn’t about gay people, transgender people or married people or single people or so called “straight” people. This is simply saying that WHATEVER your current lifestyle is, God wants it dedicated exclusively to following Him. Not following a religion but following Him.

God catches fish and then cleans them up. Not the other way around. No one sin is any worse then the other, but some folks like to act high and mighty and believe that they are better then someone who doesn’t sin in the same way they do.

I like to think of God’s law as a fence. When we are children perhaps our parents say to us, “Stay inside this fence!” But, like all children we don’t want to stay inside of that fence. We think we want to go outside and find out what’s out there. We don’t realize that we could get hit by a car or grabbed by a maniac. We just think our parents are mean for making us stay inside that fence.

They do that because they love us, we are precious to them and they don’t want us to get hurt.

God’s moral laws are also for the same reason. He knows that there are things out there that can hurt us if we play with them.

Going out with someone who is not your spouse or partner is much the same way. It starts out simply. Perhaps you decide to meet with this person for dinner. You feel a bit strange about it but you think, “its only dinner!” what can happen?” Then perhaps you start talking to this person and emotionally bonding. You tell them things that are about your spouse, “after all everyone needs someone to talk to,” you think. And then if you are a Christian you might think about what God says about adultery but you brush that off by saying, “God knows I need someone to talk too!” Then it goes on awhile and someone says to you, “I think you better be careful there!” You then try to convince them, and yourself, that, “We are just friends, nothing is going on!” Then it keeps going and before you know it you are having an affair and lose your relationship and all that goes with that.

I could go on, but you get my drift here. All moral failings start by convincing ourselves that we are doing nothing wrong. But when we then see the consequences of our behavior we often blame it on God. “Why didn’t you stop me? Why did you let me get involved in this?”

Beloved, it’s called free will and God wants us to love Him enough to live the way He tells us to live. It’s our fence and we may not be mature enough yet to understand it but it’s there for a reason.

God wants us to endure situations and learn from them. He tells us that as hard as it is to do that, it is worth it and GREAT is our reward.

Bad moral decisions are ALWAYS preceded by a series of unwise decisions that we first talk ourselves into.

I don’t care who you are or how old you are, the temptations of life never quit. The secret to overcoming them is to realize what a wonderful God we have that desires only the best and brightest things for us! He tries hard to keep us from losing our souls because of His strong love for us. Today, if you are being tempted to do something that isn’t good for you, and you know it, surrender it to God and know that He has so much in store for you and your obedience is going to lead you to a wonderful truth that God loves you more then you could ever imagine!

May God’s best be present in your life, now and forever!

In His Never-Failing Love,

Cathie

http://www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

Leave a Reply

