God And Spiders


Dontgiveup

“We will shout for joy when you are victorious and will lift up our
banners in the name of our God. May the LORD grant all your requests.
Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed; he answers him from his
holy heaven with the saving power of his right hand. Some trust in
chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our
God.” (Psalm 20:5-7)

If you are like me you have some days when you wonder, “Where is God and how much more does He honestly think I can take?”

Yesterday was one of those days for me. Sometimes people think I float around in a supernatural bubble of happiness and nothing bad happens to the encouragement preacher.

Don’t ever believe that. Like you I too have unbearable days, but God has been using those days to help me learn and then to turn around and teach others what I have learned.

I had one of those days yesterday. I am my poor husbands caretaker. We have no family around us; we have no strong church family here due to the fact this area is steeped in New Age beliefs. So God has had us, like Moses, in the desert.

The desert was where Moses found himself literally ripped from his comfort zone and often questioning the Lord regarding the situation.

Normally God holds me up and gives me supernatural strength to run my husbands errands, as he no longer see’s well enough to drive. He needs medication, and he has doctor’s appointments and other needs including the fact he cannot shower himself without help. Yesterday, my Lupus decided to come out of remission temporarily. I felt myself getting ill, and having no energy. Chuck had waited until the last minute to let me know he was out of important medication. I had to go to the store and frankly I had no idea where the strength to do so would come from.

I sat down to put on my shoes and a huge brown spider crawled out from under one of them. I have seen all kinds of spiders in the last few days and even two geckos in the house. It is getting cold and they are looking for a warm place too. Everyday I kill several of them. I have thought about asking my landlord to spray the house but trust me when I tell you that it is better to not ask the man for anything. He has truly been the landlord from the hot place.

Now usually, if we look back on it, it’s some little thing, like a spider on our shoe, that is the straw the breaks the camels back, so to speak.

I picked up the shoe, killed the spider and said to God, “How much more do you expect of me, God? How much more!!” I started to recite every single thing that was wrong in my life. Then I stopped, got myself together and went to get the medication. Truthfully, the drive into town cleared my head and calmed my soul.

While driving into town I thought about a story I had recited to me as a young Christian. I looked it up and sure enough I found it online. It comforted me in so many ways! It centered me again, and made me realize that even what we see as a bad situation has God in the middle of it. God uses what looks like impossible situations to minister His loving kindness to us too. I am going to share the story with you today.

If you are in, “one of those places,” I pray that this story ministers to you too!

                  The Soldiers Spider Web

 

Robert the Bruce, a young soldier, found himself in a terrible battle
during the Scottish Reformation around 1300. The enemy was soundly
defeating this young man’s army. He and his comrades found themselves
hastily retreating from the battlefield in defeat, running away in
fear of their very lives. The enemy gave chase. This young man ran
hard and fast, full of fear and desperation, and soon found himself
cut off from his comrades in arms.

He eventually came upon a rocky ledge containing a cave. Knowing the
enemy was close behind, and that he was exhausted from the chase, he
chose to hide there. After he crawled in, he fell to his face in the
darkness, desperately crying to God to save him and protect him from
his enemies.

When he looked up from his despairing plea for help, he saw a spider
beginning to weave its web at the entrance to the cave. As he watched
the delicate threads being slowly drawn across the mouth of the cave,
the young soldier pondered its irony. He thought, “I asked God for
protection and deliverance, and he sent me a spider instead. How can
a spider save me?

His heart was hardened, knowing the enemy would soon discover his
hiding place and kill him. And soon he did hear the sound of his
enemies, who were now scouring the area looking for those in hiding.
One soldier with a gun slowly walked up to the cave’s entrance. As
the young man crouched in the darkness, hoping to surprise the enemy
in a last-minute desperate attempt to save his own life, he felt his
heart pounding wildly out of control.

As the enemy cautiously moved forward to enter the cave, he came upon
the spider’s web, which by now was completely strung across the
opening. He backed away and called out to a comrade, “There can’t be
anyone in here. They would have had to break this spider’s web to
enter the cave. Let’s move on.”

Years later, a young man wrote about that ordeal: “Where God is, a
spider’s web is as a stone wall. Where God is not, a stone wall is as
a spider’s web.”
Author Unknown

In His Never-Ending Love,

Cathie

 

www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

www.taossouthwest.com

 

Leave a Reply

