Using Our Gifts For The Kingdom Of God


fortuneteller

“I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.” John 14:12

I don’t know where the “church” went wrong, and I haven’t had the urge to research it. At one point we had leaders that turned around the message and made it “all about us.” In the following scriptures we learn exactly how God feels about these people who taught us that it was our right to be rich, and if we gave to them we would be. When we gave and gave and got nothing in return, we often became bitter and quit giving at all.

“Woe to the shepherds who are destroying and scattering the sheep of my pasture!” declares the LORD.” Jeremiah 23:1

 

Those of us who belong to God are called to be His hands, heart, eyes, and minister to His people in the same way He ministered to others while He walked the earth.

As I said in my last blog entry we are made to share in His sufferings, but after that time we are to be “resurrected” having died to self and realizing that our gifts should be used to advance His Kingdom until He returns for us.

Somehow the church went wrong and we got the impression that we were meant to have it easy breezy here with no money problems. We were supposed to, according to these money-grabbing ministers, have lots of money and use that money for lavish vacations, hot cars and mini-mansions.

God will provide for us and the reason He does so is so that we can provide for His people. If we have no place to live, no food to eat, no healthcare and no car, we cannot provide for His people. But in the past few years I have found that God will lay it on someone’s heart to provide for me as I minister. I do not have to ask, and before I learned this secret, I used to do so. The Lord showed me these scriptures regarding the support of ministry. A whole lot of folks have not seen the following scriptures;

“After this, Jesus traveled about from one town and village to another, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom of God. The Twelve were with him, and also some women who had been cured of evil spirits and diseases: Mary (called Magdalene) from whom seven demons had come out Joanna the wife of Chuza, the manager of Herod’s household; Susanna; and many others. These women were helping to support them out of their own means.” Luke 8:1,2,3

Satan will come to ministers and whisper in their ears “You are helping others and they do not do a thing for you, you need to beg for donations.” Even last week someone said to me to add a donation button to my blog. I tried to do so and it got messed up and wouldn’t work. The Lord began to admonish me for that. We need to take our directions from God and NOT other people.

If we are truly walking in the spirit the things we need will be provided. Are there some people that are users that take, take and take and never give? Of course, but it no longer bothers me because I hope that somehow the Lord, through the words He gives me to write, will eventually impress these folks about the joy of giving. Until they learn that lesson whatever they get will slip, constantly, from their hands.

There are people whom the Lord will touch to support your ministry. I have had those people write me in the past, just when I was desperate, and tell me that the Lord spoke to their heart to help me. A few months ago a dear woman from New Zealand wrote me and did just that. At that time, due to medical bills my husband has, my situation was dire. God waited until the very last minute and then He provided for our needs.

Beloved of the Lord our motives are always known by God. What do we need provision for? If we truly belong to Him and are always ministering to His people, regardless of what we are paid, He will meet our NEEDS. The people of God ministered to Jesus and the disciples as we see in the above scriptures. It wasn’t all the multiplication of fishes and loaves.

Out of the amount folks may occasionally donate to me, I take 10% and donate to someone else’s ministry. Sometimes someone will send $5.00 and I appreciate that and take .50cents and place it in a jar. Then if I see someone, that God tells me to minister money to, I may have 5.00 saved up and I reach in my purse and give it to that person.

Our basic gifts are given to us when God breathes His spirit on us, at conception. We often use those gifts to glorify self at first. If Gods hands are truly on our lives as we mature He will take us through many trials and tribulations until we repent and use the gifts for His Kingdom. He takes us in a crude state, like clay in the potter’s hands, and He molds us until we shine forth in glory. He NEVER takes his hands off of His children, but some fall without having reached their full potential in the Lord and they never get back up. How heartbreaking that must be for the Father.

For instance I have always had a God given discernment of spirits. However for a long time it confused me, especially as a child. At one point I got heavily involved in New Age. I would do readings for people and they would pay me $150.00 for an hour.

I wasn’t using these readings as an extension of God’s intuitive mind. I was using these gifts to make money. The problem was that my life went from bad to worse. One problem after the other, one bad hurtful relationship after the other, until I finally had enough of that and totally surrendered to the Lord. I repented and asked for deliverance from “evil spirits.”

I was later surprised to learn that that gift of “intuition” had not been removed from my life. I was simply told by the Lord that now I must use it to help His people. I think a lot of intuitives get to that point. They realize that it’s not about them, but about Him. They then start to see their “clients” as a ministry and not a meal ticket.

Jesus worked through God given intuition. Notice how He ministers to people. He never sits them down and does an intake. He simply, kindly, tells them what the problem is and then says, “Go and sin no more.”

What’s the difference between God giving His people discernment of spirits and Satan giving people “intuition and psychic ability?”

Someone comes to you and wants you to give them lottery numbers, and you either cannot or will not because we do not need to know the future. God holds our future and we need to rest in that everyday no matter what happens.

Now, lets say that a Christian parent comes to you with concern about a situation with one of their children. I pray about it and advise the parent what God has shown me. Sometimes there are hidden things God wants to share with someone who doesn’t have, themselves, the gift of discernment of Spirits.

At other times someone might have a sin that is dragging them down and that they have had a hard time overcoming. Those times God might give me a Word that shows me the “root” of that problem and knowing that often sets the person free.

If we take our God given talents and use them to our glory, and not the glory of the Lord, we will be reprimanded by the Lord until we get down on our hands and knees and ask forgiveness and turn from those things that are not pleasing to God.

I want to deal in this blog entry, and a few more to come, about why we are here and what our purpose is. When we realize that we are in this world to expand His Kingdom, as He did when He walked the earth, things start to make sense. We find out that we are not crazy, just different then those who do not belong to Him, and that we are not citizens of this crazy world but citizens of heaven. He said that He went there to “prepare a place for us.” We often forget that our reward is in heaven not in this sinful world.

Each encounter is a God given opportunity to reach a hurting world. If we walk in the Spirit we need not say a Word, we simply “tune” into Him and wait for instructions.

In His All Knowing Love,

Cathie

www.helpforgodshurtingpeople.com

Leave a Reply

